New. Ground-breaking. Now Available. WMCP learn more

Legacy Designations

Legacy Designations

The American College of Financial Services has a long history of providing professional education to practitioners in the field. 

Over the years, we have introduced several groundbreaking professional designations to the market. As the financial services profession — and The College itself —  have evolved, some of our designations have been sunset from our program offerings. While these legacy designations are no longer offered to new students, we will always be available to support those who earned a legacy designation from The College.


The Chartered Advisor in Senior Living® designation shows a commitment to helping aging clients achieve financial security now and into the future. The CASL® helps advisors lead clients from middle age through retirement and assist them with the management, preservation, and transfer of wealth.


The Chartered Healthcare Consultant® designation was created to educate financial advisors on changes to our health care system following the passing of the Affordable Care Act legislation in 2010. The College transferred this designation to the National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU), which issues and supports the ChHC® today.


The Registered Employee Benefits Consultant® designation includes practical knowledge on pensions and retirement plan funding, installation and administration. The program covers group medical plans, long-term care, executive compensation, personnel management and more. The College transferred this designation to the National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU), which issues and supports the REBC® designation today.


The Registered Health Underwriter® designation was created to provide a specialization in living benefits, including income replacement and risk management solutions for individuals, business owners and professionals. We will continue to field any request for assistance regarding an RHU® credential earned from The College. 

Recertification Requirements

Participation in the Professional Recertification Program is generally not required for legacy designations no longer offered to new students by The College, and for those conferred by other institutions, including: 

  • REBC®
  • RHU®
  • ChHC®

The CASL® designation remains subject to recertification. Learn more about CASL® recertification requirements here.

See All Active Designations & Degrees