The American College honors 2017 Millennial Advisor Award winners

The American College honors 2017 Millennial Advisor Award winners

10 financial services professionals take home the honor

BRYN MAWR, Pa., Oct. 17, 2017 -- The American College of Financial Services has announced the winners of its second annual Millennial Advisor Award, given to a select group of individuals under the age of 35 who have made a significant impact in their profession.

Selected by a group of their peers, this year's winners have shown outstanding performance and leadership in their careers, and a desire to give back to the community. Each winner has consistently demonstrated a high level of commitment, dedication, and integrity.

"We wanted to highlight the great young advisors out there because millennials are not only the future of the financial services profession, but the present too" said Jamie Hopkins, Professor of Retirement Income Planning and co-director of The American College New York Life Center for Retirement Income.

"It's important to recognize these advisors who are already leaders and top producers for the work they do to ensure the continued financial security of American families."

Hopkins is also Chair of The College's Millennial Advisory Task Force, a group representing some of the top young minds in financial services. The Task Force selected this year's winners from a long list of nominees. Five winners were chosen for the inaugural award in 2016; the figure was doubled to 10 in 2017 due to the high number of nominations and caliber of the nominees.

The winners of the 2017 Millennial Advisor Award, announced Friday, September 1, 2017, are: Chantel Bonneau, CFP®, CLU®, REBC®, Wealth Management Advisor, Northwestern Mutual; James Cooney, CFP®, FSCP®, Financial Planner, Empire Wealth Strategies (Penn Mutual); Hunter Hart, CFP®, ChFC®, Financial Planner, Equity Planning, Inc.; Andrew M Komarow, CFP® AEP®, CAP®, CASL®, ChFC®, CLU®, FSCP®, REBC®, RICP®, Financial Planner, Talcott Financial Group; Anna K. Pfaehler, CFP®, Director of Financial Planning, HORAN; Christopher Seabrook MBA, RICP®, Financial Representative, COUNTRY Financial; Michaela F. Scott, MSFS, CFP®, CLU®, ChFC®, RICP®, AIF®, Vice President, Investment Advisor Representative, Boston Partners Financial Group; Ryan Scott CFP®, AIF®, RICP®, CLU®, ChFC®, Financial Advisor, Principal Financial Group; Laura Vaughn, CFP®, Partner, North Star Resource Group; and Vincent Viveros CFP®, Portfolio Consultant, Schwab Private Client Investment Advisory, Inc.

The winners will be recognized at The College's annual President's Dinner on Nov. 17, 2017 at The Franklin Institute in Philadelphia:

Read more about the winners at

# # #

About The American College of Financial Services

The American College of Financial Services was founded in 1927 and is the nation's largest non-profit educational institution devoted to financial services. Holding the highest level of academic accreditation, The College has educated one in five financial advisors across the United States and offers prestigious financial planning designations such as the Retirement Income Certified Professional® (RICP®), Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU®), Chartered Financial Consultant® (ChFC®) and education leading to the Certified Financial Planner™ (CFP®) certification. It recently approved conferral of PhD degrees to the first class of graduates of that program. The College's faculty represents some of the foremost thought leaders of the financial services profession. For more information, visit