The American College honors 2018 Millennial Financial Services Professional Award winners

The American College honors 2018 Millennial Financial Services Professional Award winners

5 financial services professionals take home the honor

BRYN MAWR, Pa., Sept. 24, 2018 -- The American College of Financial Services has announced the winners of its third annual Millennial Financial Services Professional Award, given to a select group of individuals who have made a significant impact in their profession.

Selected by a group of their peers, this year's winners have shown outstanding performance and leadership in their careers, and a desire to give back to the community. Each winner has consistently demonstrated a high level of commitment, dedication, and integrity.

"It has been an honor to have been involved with the American College's initiative to honor millennial financial services professionals from the start, and this year's class does not disappoint," said Jamie Hopkins, Professor of Retirement Income Planning and co-director of The American College New York Life Center for Retirement Income.

"The 2018 award winners represent a diverse group of high performing professionals that are shaping financial services. The group represents a wide range of expertise, experiences, and companies. All of the award winners have shown both a dedication to the profession, practicing with ethics, and a commitment to continued education."

Hopkins is also Chair of The College's Millennial Advisory Task Force, a group representing some of the top young minds in financial services. The Task Force selected this year's winners from a long list of nominees. 

The winners of the 2018 Millennial Financial Services Professional Award, announced Wednesday, September 5, 2018, are: Matthew McKinley Hembree, CFP®, Financial Advisor, First Command Financial Planning; David Kelly, CFP®, WMS, IAR, First Vice-President of Investments, Managing Director, Raymond James & Associates; Jason R. Bloom, LUTCF®, CLU®, Sales Leader, State Farm Insurance; Barbara Ginty, CFP®, Owner, Independent Financial Services; and Andrea Williams, CLU®, CFP®, Financial Advisor, Northwestern Mutual Wealth Management Company.

The winners will be recognized at The College's annual President's Dinner on Oct. 26, 2018 in New York City:

Read more about the winners at

# # #

About The American College of Financial Services

The American College of Financial Services was founded in 1927 and is the nation's largest non-profit educational institution devoted to financial services. Holding the highest level of academic accreditation, The College offers prestigious financial planning designations such as the Retirement Income Certified Professional® (RICP®), Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU®), Chartered Financial Consultant® (ChFC®), Wealth Management Certified Professional® (WMCP®) and education leading to the Certified Financial Planner™ (CFP®) certification. It recently approved conferral of PhD degrees to the first class of graduates of that program. The College's faculty represents some of the foremost thought leaders of the financial services profession. For more information, visit