Alert: Please be aware that we will be performing maintenance on the FSCP and CE exam system on April 4th from 8 AM to 5 PM. During those hours you will not be able to take FSCP exams or proctored CE128 exams. No other programs will be affected.

Designation Requirements

Designation Requirements

Professional Recertification Program

Once The College awards a designation, that designee has a “right to use” the designation mark, provided all ongoing recertification requirements through the Professional Recertification Program are met.

If you hold any of the following designations, you must participate in the Professional Recertification Program for your designation to remain active:

  • CAP®
  • CASL®
  • ChFC®
  • ChSNC®
  • CLF®
  • CLU®
  • FSCP®
  • RICP®
  • WMCP®

Learn more about the Professional Recertification Program here.

Program Requirements

To receive a Huebner School designation (including ChFC®, CLF®, CLU®, RICP®, and WMCP®), you must successfully complete all courses in your selected program, meet experience requirements and ethics standards, and agree to comply with The American College Code of Ethics and Procedures. 

The WMCP® designation has an additional requirement of passing the final exam to receive the WMCP® designation. Course requirements must be successfully completed in order to sit for the final exam.


For the CAP® program and all Huebner School designations except the WMCP®, three years of full-time, relevant business experience is required for completion. The three-year period must be within the five years preceding the date of the award. For the CAP® program, relevant experience may include working in a nonprofit organization, serving on a nonprofit board, or volunteering. Due to differing program structures, the WMCP® requires one year of relevant experience.

An undergraduate or graduate degree from an accredited educational institution qualifies as one year of business experience. Part-time qualifying business experience is credited toward the experience requirement on an hourly basis, with 2,000 hours representing the equivalent of one year of full-time experience.

The following activities meet the required business experience qualifications included in the certification process:

       Insurance and health care

  • Field underwriting and management, including sales and service activities, supervision and management of persons involved in sales or services, or staff support of persons in these activities.
  • Company management and operations in positions involving substantial responsibility.

       Financial services and employee benefits

  • Client service and related management, including direct contact with clients, supervision and management of persons involved directly in the process of providing financial services or employee benefits, or staff support of persons in these activities.
  • Financial institution management and operations in positions involving substantial responsibility.


  • University or college teaching of subjects related to the Huebner School curriculum on a full-time basis at an accredited institution of higher education.
  • Government regulatory service in a responsible administrative, supervisory, or operational capacity.
  • Activities directly or indirectly related to the protection, accumulation, conservation, or distribution of the economic value of human life; these include the work of actuaries, attorneys, CPAs, investment advisers, real estate investment advisers, stockbrokers, trust officers, or persons in other similar occupations.

FSCP® Program Requirements

To earn the FSCP® designation, candidates must complete their choice of five (5) FA Courses, FA 290 Ethics for the Financial Services Professional, the Certification Course (live webinar), and the certification exam. Designees must also abide by The American College's Code of Ethics and take 3 hours of approved ethics-related CE every two years.

Final Exams For all FA courses exams must be taken through The College's proctored online examination process. Students must satisfy the attendance requirements and have a moderator grade of at least 70 to be eligible to take the final exam. Guidelines for taking the exam and instructions for registering an exam proctor can be found online in Brightspace. Student and proctor exam eligibility emails will be sent as soon as the student has met the exam eligibility requirements. (Students have 4 weeks from the last class to take their exam.)

Code of Ethics

To underscore the importance of ethics standards for Huebner School designations, the Board of Trustees adopted a Code of Ethics in 1984. Embodied in the Code are the Professional Pledge and eight Canons.

The Professional Pledge

"In all my professional relationships, I pledge myself to the following rule of ethical conduct: I shall, in light of all conditions surrounding those I serve, which I shall make every conscientious effort to ascertain and understand, render that service which, in the same circumstances, I would apply to myself."

The Canons

 I. Conduct yourself at all times with honor and dignity.

 II. Avoid practices that would bring dishonor upon your profession or The American College.

 III. Publicize your achievements in ways that enhance the integrity of your profession.

 IV. Continue your studies throughout your working life so as to maintain a high level of professional competence.

 V. Do your utmost to attain a distinguished record of professional service.

 VI. Support the established institutions and organizations concerned with the integrity of your profession.

 VII. Participate in building your profession by encouraging and providing appropriate assistance to qualified persons pursuing professional studies.

 VIII. Comply with all laws and regulations, particularly as they relate to professional and business activities.