Dear students, we are updating our phone systems on Tuesday 5/16/2023 in order to serve you better. For the best experience please listen closely to the options and make sure you have your student ID # ready. Check your portal homepage for more information.

Legacy Programs

Legacy Programs

The American College of Financial Services has a long history of providing professional education to practitioners in the field. 

Over the years, we have introduced several groundbreaking education opportunities to the profession. As the financial services profession — and The College itself —  have evolved, some of our designations and degrees have been sunset from our program offerings. While these legacy programs are no longer offered to new students, we will always be available to support those who earned a legacy credential from The College.


The Chartered Advisor in Senior Living® designation shows a commitment to helping aging clients achieve financial security now and into the future. The CASL® helps advisors lead clients from middle age through retirement and assist them with the management, preservation, and transfer of wealth.


The Chartered Healthcare Consultant® designation was created to educate financial advisors on changes to our health care system following the passing of the Affordable Care Act legislation in 2010. The College transferred this designation to the National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU), which issues and supports the ChHC® today.


The FSS® designation was created to provide financial advisors with the core knowledge and skills they need to provide essential planning and advisory assistance to consumers and business. The FSS® designation was sunset in December 2013. Education comparable to the FSS® program is available through the Financial Services Certified Professional® (FSCP®) designation program.

PhD in Financial and Retirement Planning

The part-time PhD in Financial and Retirement Planning started in July 2013 and was phased out in April 2018. PhD students produced original academic research that adds to the body of knowledge in the financial services profession. The College awarded six doctoral degrees before the program ended, and will maintain academic support for all students pursuing the degree at the time it was sunset.


The Registered Employee Benefits Consultant® designation includes practical knowledge on pensions and retirement plan funding, installation and administration. The program covers group medical plans, long-term care, executive compensation, personnel management and more. The College transferred this designation to the National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU), which issues and supports the REBC® designation today.


The Registered Health Underwriter® designation was created to provide a specialization in living benefits, including income replacement and risk management solutions for individuals, business owners and professionals. We will continue to field any request for assistance regarding an RHU® credential earned from The College. 


Sunsetted in 2021, the Master of Science in Financial Services (MSFS) provided expertise in the wealth accumulation process and the knowledge to help business owners develop compensation, succession planning, and retirement income strategies. MSFS student information can be found here.

Recertification Requirements

Participation in the Professional Recertification Program is generally not required for legacy designations no longer offered to new students by The College, and for those conferred by other institutions, including: 

  • REBC®
  • RHU®
  • ChHC®
  • FSS®

The CASL® designation remains subject to recertification. Learn more about CASL® recertification requirements here.

See All Active Designations & Degrees